Established in 1983, the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) awards and grants program promotes excellence in teaching and research with the goal of improved care of critically ill and injured patients. Awards are given annually to critical care practitioners and other healthcare practitioners who demonstrate dedication and innovation to the field of critical care and/or to the Society of Critical Care Medicine.

You must be a member of SCCM’s Professional or Select Membership to apply for all awards except the Lifetime Achievement Award, Safar Global Partner Award, and ICU Heroes Award. If you are not an SCCM member you may join today. You may also upgrade your membership at any time.

  • American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) Distinguished Investigator Award
  • Asmund S. Laerdal Memorial Lecture Award
  • Barry A. Shapiro Memorial Award for Excellence in Critical Care Management
  • Burchardi Award
  • Chapters Alliance Excellence Award
  • Drs. Vidyasagar and Nagamani Dharmapuri Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Dr. Joseph and Rae Brown Award
  • Family-Centered Care Innovation Award
  • Grenvik Family Award for Ethics
  • Honorary Life Membership
  • ICU Design Citation
  • ICU Heroes Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence
  • Presidential Citation
  • Safar Global Partner Award
  • Shubin-Weil Master Clinician/Teacher: Excellence in Bedside Teaching Award
  • Abstract-Based Awards
  • Annual Scientific Awards
  • Specialty Awards
  • Research Citations
  • In-Training Award
  • Young Investigator Award